Why is that?

Someone I know, their sister had her baby this week by cesarean. She was induced, and had an epidural right away. They said the baby was in mild to moderate fetal distress so they were going to do a cesarean. My friend called me to find out if I had read anywhere if this was necessary or if the doctor was just jumping the gun.

This got me to thinking. In one of my new books, it says that only 10% of women in our country have an unmedicated labor and deliver. Unmedicated meaning no interventions (including induction, cesarean, episiotomies, forceps, and vacuums) and no pain relief.

What kind of country do we live in, where the minority of women are doing things naturally, like women have been doing for centuries? Why is it that the doctors have such a giant say as to what happens in OUR labor and delivery. Why have we turned over our right as women, when all we want is more rights and freedoms?

Hopefully, someday, I will have the answer.

One Response

  1. I think that most of us are just scaredy cats when it comes to giving birth naturally. I don’t even want to do so. I LOVE the epidural and I like the idea of an episiotomy. I most definitely prefer giving birth vaginally opposed to a C-section. I think a lot of it is opinion. My doctor has always let me have a say in what was going to happen. He is a really great doctor for me though ;o)

Leave a Reply

