Baby Aspirin and Infertility


Baby aspirin, or aspirin of 78-81 mg a day (low dose aspirin) can actually increase chances of pregnancy in women who have recurrent spontaneous abortions, or miscarriages, and also in women who are healthy and just have trouble conceiving.

One of the reasons it helps increase chances is antiphospholipid antibodies. These can:
– cause your blood to become much thicker than usua, and cause platelets to stick together.
– increase your chance for blood clots
– these blood clots can develop around the placenta, depriving the baby of oxygen and nutrients.

Taking baby aspirin can help thin the blood so blood clots don’t happen.

More than 45% of women taking aspirin for treatment became pregnant, while only 28% of those not taking aspirin conceived. These numbers are HUGELY different.

And, even if you haven’t had miscarriages, or anything, it has been shown to increase pregnancy in ALL women.
– Increases ovarian activity, allowing them to release multiple eggs during ovulation.
– Increases blood flow to the uterus, allowing for a thicker and healthier uterine lining.

You should take this under direct supervision of a licensed health care provider.

It is not intended for long term use. It can actually prevent release of eggs from follicles, thus inhibiting ovulation. So, short term can help you ovulate, long term stops ovulation. Kind of ironic.

I actually heard about this on my supoprt group. One of the girls had been directed to start taking this, since nothing else had been working. And lo and behold, she is now pregnant!

SO, I researched it, and when I get my AF this month (hasn’t happened yet…), I am going to start a regimine of it. It’s not expensive, so even if it doesn’t work, I’m not really out anything. And if it does, how great would that be?!

So, if you are experiencing infertility or anything, ask your doctor about taking baby aspirin. They will tell you if it could work for you. You never know if it will work.

3 Responses

  1. I have also heard of this helping people concieve. Interesting story. I do have a pet peeve about calling it baby aspirin though. 🙂 It must be a pharmacy thing. People always call it baby aspirin and then freak out when you try and explain to them that the bottle that says Adult Low Dose Aspirin is the same thing. “But it doesn’t say Baby Aspirin! I am supposed to take BABY Aspirin, not the adult kind!” They just don’t believe me when I tell them that there is NO SUCH THING as baby aspirin anymore! It’s NOT safe to give to babies or children, but the name just stuck. They haven’t given it to kids since the 60’s but they still confuse people by calling it baby aspirin. well, there’s my little rant. It had nothing to do with your post, I just had to complain abour work I guess. 🙂

  2. I didn’t know that, how interesting!!

  3. I think I am going to start it too!

Leave a Reply

