From Conception to Birth

I have been watching birth movie after birth movie lately. I get everything through Netflix (awesome site btw!), and this movie was rated almost 5 stars on there from people that have seen it.

I ordered it, and watched it.

It is an excellent movie if you want to know how your baby is growing while in the womb. It has great pictures, explains things, it was amazing to see the little baby change.

One woman went on to have a miscarriage at 10 weeks, and all the movie could say was that “1 in 6 women lose their babies, and she lost her fetus at 10 weeks.” No emotion, no love, just facts. That is not how people view miscarriage. Not even a bit.

The story after this followed three women through the last few months of their pregnancy and then their labors and deliveries.

The narrator said that the husbands “bystanders”. They are either sitting down reading a paper, or recording so the woman has to talk during her contractions. What kind of birth partner is that!?

After this, they compared birth to trying to swallow a softball. Your throat isn’t made to swallow a softball. Your body is made to push out a baby.

Two of the three women got epidurals, and even before they got them, the nurses would come in and say “your contractions are going to keep getting stronger. Let me know when you want the epi.” What kind of encouragement for a laboring woman is that! The third woman held out longer, which is so impressive since she was on her back laboring, and when she was checked the nurse said the same thing she said to the other two. The woman acquiested.

The rest of their labors went by without incident.

Then came the pushing. They were flat on their backs, trying to push a baby out a hole that is crunched, because your pelvis is 30% smaller when you’re on your back.

The woman who held out from the epidural, she pushed for 2 hours without getting anywhere. The doctor looks at her and says, “I will give you 15 more minutes of pushing, and if I don’t see any progress, we will do a section.” The women closes her eyes, and prays. She talks to her baby and that part was so great. In 15 minutes, she had completely pushed her baby out.

But, what does this show the women who watch this movie? The labors aren’t natural or normal. They are strapped to beds while their husbands sit in the corner. Your baby is a miracle, but it is a completely medical procedure to get your baby out.

After it was over, I got pretty heated. I talked to a couple of my friends about things and I realized something.

I was one of these women.

With my daughter, I was prepared to have a normal pregnancy and birth. But, when she was breech, I researched nothing. I talked to the doctor about the version, learned the statitstics from him, and researched nothing.

When the day came, I was okay with getting the baby out by cesarean, because i had researched nothing on it. He said there was a 6-7 % chance that the baby would be a little young and need oxygen, but he didn’t think it would be the problem with me. So, I trusted. I believed it would be ok.

A week in a NICU definitely changed my mind.

I feel terrible for thinking that it is all the doctors or the woman’s fault. Medical science has helped so many people. But who is to say that what we are doing in obstetrics is medically necessary? Sure, it saves lives, but surgery isn’t always the answer. Definitely not 31.7% of the time.

Why don’t we as women question what is going on in the care of us and our unborn child? Why do we accept without researching? No person is fool proof, and no one way is the right way, but why, in this one tiny part of our lives that affects who we are in the future, do we not question?

All the question has brought me is more questions, and lots of debate with myself.

I wish I knew how to make everything better, because it doesn’t seem to be changing, no matter what people try.

One Response

  1. I completely agree with you. It’s a frustrating place to be in. Medical advances have made huge impacts for good in many areas of our healthcare, but i honestly don’t believe obstetrics is one of those areas. It’s only an improvement if surgery is needed, and it usually isn’t.

Leave a Reply

