Overdue

The clinical definition of overdue pregnancy is anything over 42 gestational weeks. Kind of sounds like a long time, when put that way.

In pregnancy, they ‘estimate’ your due date from your last menstral period. I have a post all about ovulation, conception, and pregnancy, if you want to check it out here.

Pregnancy is 40 weeks from your LMP. And if you are regular and ovulate every cycle on day 14, that’s great! If not, you might be over the due date or under the due date.

This idea of a due date was founded in the 1800s by a doctor in France, and even though it has been misproven hundreds of times, we still use it to calculate a due date.

As that date approaches, you may get more and more excited. And to see that date cruise by without even a thin piece of thinning of your cervix, that has to be hard. But, if your due date was off, even by just a few days?

Once you are at 41 weeks, your doctor may closely monitor you to see if the baby is ok. You may be asked to come in for ‘stress’ tests regularly to see if the baby is still having a beating heart, you may have daily cervical checks (I think this one is bogus, but to some doctors…), and you may have daily or every couple of day ultrasounds to check the fluid and the placenta.

A lot of people say that if you go past 7 days past 40 weeks, your baby will be too big for you to push out. To this, I just laugh and wonder who taught them their birth facts.

There is an ‘increased’ risk of meconium inhalation. Which happens if your baby is stressed, so they empty their bowels in the womb. My only thing with this is that one of my friend’s babies had meconium and it was 2 weeks early. It just happens, regardless of how long it has gestated. I think this is one of the ‘fear’ factors people tell you.

There is a risk of placental aging, since the placenta isn’t meant to function forever. But, you can have blood tests done to see if the baby is still growing and the placenta is still functioning. It doesn’t just all the sudden stop on week 42 of pregnancy, so please don’t think that.

Most women now are induced by 41 weeks. Rarely do they let you go longer. It is really sad.

Even if you have a regular cycle, the one month you got pregnant might have been different. Trust your body. Your baby is in there for a reason. It is growing and getting ready to be born, and if you are induced, even at 42 weeks, you might have a premature baby.

Weight the facts, as I always say. If you want a natural birth, then TRUST YOUR BODY!

14 Responses

  1. Absolutely true!!!Once I took a natural family planning class and learned that I have longer-than-28-day-cycles (early to mid 30’s) and shorter-than-14-day-luteal-phases (10-11 days rather than 14), I quickly realized that any due date calculated the traditional way was going to be FAR, FAR WRONG. Thankfully my midwife takes me seriously about that, but I haven’t been able to get any nurse/OB to pay any attention to me – their eyes are riveted by the sacred pregnancy wheel. Kind of sad.

  2. Hi Kayce,Thanks for your comments on my blog. I think it’s so great that you are learning so much now. I am a birth geek too, though it’s funny ’cause I’ve had 2 c-sections (but hopefully will not have a third). I’ve considered going to the Farm too. In fact, I like the idea because then I won’t have to hear people ask me “When are you due” since i think I will probably go over due again. I am always interested to learn more about due dates and being overdue. THanks for the post. Great blog!

  3. oh, sorry, I was signed in on my husband’s computer. That comment was from me, from the Wonder of Birth

  4. Hi interesting post, I am currently 4 days overdue will reference this post on my blog.Trying to maintain patience, baby no.2 is now "overdue" but I never had a 28 day cycle so this gives me hope!All the bestIrish Mammy

  5. I drives me batty that people say they are “over due” if they pass their due date, instead of when they are past 42 weeks. That.is.a.huge.difference.

    Even more so, it drives me batty that Doctors start talking induction around 36-39 weeks…before the woman is even at her due date!

  6. Asking questions are really fastidious thing if you are not understanding something completely, but this piece of writing gives pleasant understanding even.

  7. discussion about this post here at this website, I have read all that, so
    at this time me also commenting here.|
    I am sure this article has touched all the internet visitors, its really really good paragraph
    on building up new web site.|
    Wow, this paragraph is fastidious, my younger sister is analyzing these kinds of things, so I am going to let know her.|
    Saved as a favorite, I like your blog!|
    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you

    cheap michael kors

  8. I tend not to write many responses, but i did a
    few searching and wound up here Overdue | Hearts And
    Hands Services. And I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be only me or does it look like a few of the remarks appear as if they are written by brain dead individuals?

    😛 And, if you are posting at other places, I would like to keep up with anything new you have to post.
    Could you make a list of every one of all your shared
    sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter
    feed?

  9. I have been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never
    found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty
    worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners
    and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be
    much more useful than ever before.

  10. Having read this I believed it was really enlightening.
    I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this information together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  11. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google,
    and found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch
    out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue
    this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  12. I do not know whether it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing issues with your website.

    It appears like some of the text on your posts are running off the
    screen. Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This may be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Thanks

  13. Wow, awesome weblog format! How lengthy have you
    been running a blog for? you made blogging glance easy.
    The overall look of your web site is excellent, let alone
    the content material!

  14. Hi friends, pleasant paragraph and nice arguments commented at this place, I am actually enjoying by these.

Leave a Reply

