Your Best Birth

A couple weeks ago, I wrote about the documentary The Business of Being Born. It was an amazing movie, and I will stress again, you should see it!

Well, my AWESOME sister in law bought me their new book, Your Best Birth.

I had wanted it since I heard about it, but I didn’t think I could afford it, and talked myself out of it. She bought it, I thought it was for herself, and then gave it to me! I am still so so so excited!!!

I read it like crazy since I got it Saturday night. I finished it earlier on Monday.

The book was so great. It gave you all of your options for your labor and delivery, and it wasn’t over the top all about natural or medical. It had birth stories from Cindy Crawford (who had home births and completely natural) and Melissa Joan Hart (who had her second natural). It also had Ricki Lake’s and Abby Epstein’s births.

You are able to learn about everything, and therefore make an informed decision. It was absolutely amazing.

It sited birth experts, surveys, tests, research, everything to help you inform yourself. And, I didn’t get bored after reading the same thing for my 14th book in a row. It kept me entertained and enthralled from the first page to the last page.

Go buy this book!!! If you want to learn about birth, whether you want to have a medical birth or a natural birth, this gives you everything. And it does it in a funny way.

My favorite part of the book was when they talked about VBAC. They were describing utering rupture, and said this.

“Uterine rupture is a frightening idea, womething right out of Alien.” Alien is one of my favorite movies!! I called my husband when I read this, and he said he needed to read the book now. It was so great.

Even if you don’t have the $20 to buy it, you can probably rent it from your library. It is TOTALLY worth it.

3 Responses

  1. I’m looking forward to reading it soon!

  2. Oooh exciting! I’ll have to remember this one! Thanks for sharing and for the great review!

  3. I have heard great things about that book. I am anxious to read it!

Leave a Reply

