My New Birth Quote

I was watching Lord of the Rings last night, (The Two Towers) and I heard Sam’s speech at the end. I have always LOVED this speech, but this time it hit me differently.

Sam: It’s all wrong. By rights we shouldn’t even be here. But we are. It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end, because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines, it will shine out the clearer. Those were te stories that stayed with you. That meant something. Even if you were too small to understand why. But I think Mr. Frodo, I do understand. Folk in those stries had lots of chances of turning back only they didn’t. They kept going because they were holding onto something.
Frodo: What are we holding onto Sam?
Sam: That there’s some good in this world, Mr. Frodo. And it’s worth fighting for.
Ok, I know, at first glance you are wondering what the freak this has to do with birth. I’ve heard this quote hundreds of times (we watch the three movies at least once a month) and this is the first time I have ever thought this.
You may think I’m crazy, and I might be, but just let me explain.
When I read birth stories, I don’t just read the happy ones. You have to be able to know all the aspects of birth. You have to know the drawback and the risks.
When I read the sad ones, I wonder how they can possibly end happy. Sometimes they don’t, sometimes they do. I have only read a couple where the baby died, but even if the baby is healthy, if it isn’t born that way, that’s not a happy ending.
But as Sam said, “But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass.” The stories always have a happy ending. You might have to dig deep, but it’s there.
Another thing that hit me, is this could go for labor as well. It’s hard, it’s painful, but it is a short time in your life. It won’t last forever. “And when the sun shines, it will shine out the clearer”. You have your precious gift in your arms. Your miracle. You were able to do the one thing that only women can do. You gave birth!
Our bodies are made so perfectly. You grow babies you can give birth to (or else our population would die off pretty fast…). You nourish that baby until it is ready to be born. You go through labor to prepare your body for their exit. You push out 20 lbs of stuff that has kept your baby live for the last 9 months. And you receive the greatest endorphin rush of your entire life. If this isn’t shining out the clearer, I don’t know what is.
And this is meant for natural birthers: You had a lot of chances for asking for meds. You could have turned and said that you wanted an epidural or stadol. You could have acquiested to the cesarean your doctor wanted to perform. But you didn’t!! You held out hope that you could do it. You knew there was good in this process, no matter how much it truly hurt. Pain is momentary. The feelings you have after you give birth last your whole life. Your birth was worth fighting for!
So I know you still probably think I am crazy, but I think it is a perfect quote. Sure it is truly dealing with good vs evil, but it is simply genius.
I will never watch this movie the same again haha.
2 Responses

  1. Wonderful application! Love it!

  2. It's so interesting how everything can apply to birth when you have what I call birth on the brain syndrome. Everything reminds me of some aspect of birthing! I guess I am just anxious for it to happen again! Awesome post. My hubs loves Lord of the Rings so I know I will be seeing it soon, and with new perspective!

Leave a Reply

