The Majority

I got a couple new birth books this last weekend, and one is just birth stories. I LOVE birth stories so I was completely thrilled.

It contains 60 women’s stories and I thought I would get really emotional like I always do, and it would be absolutely amazing.

I got emotional alright…. Horribly, horribly angry.

Maybe 8 births out of this entire book were not augmented with pitocin. Maybe 10 births didn’t have an epidural. And it wasn’t that they didn’t want the epidural. They just dilated too fast to get it.

One birth made me so angry I had to put the book down.

The lady got to the hospital and was experiencing menstral type cramping and it didn’t hurt. But they were 3 minutes apart, so they came in. She was checked and was at an 8!! The nurse took her glove off and asked, “Would you like an epidural? It is going to hurt more when you get to a 10 and pushing is really painful.” And what did the woman do? She got the epidural…

As I read these stories, the mindset of this country came into view. If this is all they hear, of course they are going to be induced or use pitocin for augmentation because they dilate too slow. And of course they will get the magic pain medication, because even if their labor doesn’t hurt now, it will later.

I want to throw it away, but I think it is a good learning resource… Not sure how yet, but maybe someday I’ll figure it out.

3 Responses

  1. Gosh, that sounds awful! I know what you mean, though – most mainstream birth stories are not gratifying but extremely anger-producing. It's sad that that is what most women experience.

  2. Ewwww, what book was that?

  3. The Day My Baby Was Born by LaNita McMeekan-Cates

Leave a Reply

