My Sweet Blessing


Today is the second birthday of my gorgeous little miracle, Glade. I can’t believe it has been two years already. From her hard start at life to her vivacious nature now, I still have a hard time believing I am the mother of such a wonderful and amazing child.

With it being her birthday, I think back on her rough start. The hard late pregnancy, the surgery, the oxygen, and how all of it was so hard to handle, but how it has made me the person I am today.

( You can reread her birth story: Glade’s Birth )

Without this rough start to her life and the life of my being a mother, I wouldn’t be such a strong advocate for birth. I wouldn’t be the person I am. If she had come out healthy and happy, I don’t think I would care that I had to have surgery. If she hadn’t spent time in the NICU, I don’t think I would have minded the unnecessariness (is that even a word?) of the procedures I was put through.

I wish that it hadn’t been as hard when she was born, but I don’t think I would turn back time. Some days I wish I could so I wouldn’t have had to have unnecessary surgery and wouldn’t need to think of having a repeat cesarean vs VBAC, but all in all I sometimes wish I could go back with what I knew now, but still know what I know now haha. If that makes any sense.

I am so glad for my little miracle baby. I am so glad that I was given the chance to carry her and have her as my daughter. I feel so loved by my heavenly father for letting me have this great gift.

I know I am still bitter over my experience, and I still get really jealous of women that don’t appreciate their great births or women that get to have a vaginal birth for that matter, but I know that maybe that is how she was supposed to come. Maybe her rough start truly was how my life was to begin. I couldn’t imagine myself just living day to day without knowing what my true calling was to be.

Thank you, Glade, for all that you have done for me. For making me a better person, for loving me unconditionally, for helping me realize my potential.

Thank you for being my daughter, and I love you so very much.

One Response

  1. Happy Birthday Glade!

Leave a Reply

