Cesarean Vs VBAC Video – The Dramatic Difference

The new midwife down here in Utah posted this video on her facebook and I found it today.

This woman had two cesareans. The first for failure to progress, the second scheduled because of a ‘big baby’ even though she wanted a VBAC, and the third is a homebirth VBA2C.

From the very first minute this started, I was bawling. It shows both cesareans as the babies are being PULLED and PUSHED out of the mother. I just lost it. This is how my daughter was welcomed into the world, just like these two gorgeous girls.

This is not how it is supposed to be done.

The homebirth was amazing. She held her first baby at 44 minutes after birth, her second 4 hours after birth, and this one her husband caught and she held right away. She has a look of awe on her face and announced, “I did it!” She is in total disbelief.

Her baby is calm, not crying, just looking around and enjoying her mother. Her first two cried, were jostled, and were not welcomed warmly.

It is night and day.

This video is why I will have my VBAC. I want this tranquility in my births. I want to be able to hold my baby right away, to know that my body isn’t broken.

**The cesareans are graphic, and do show the incision and them pulling the baby out. I would recommend watching everything but the two little blips where this happens. It is an amazing video**

Cesarean vs. VBAC: A Dramatic Difference from Alexandra Orchard on Vimeo.

One Response

  1. That was awesome! Thanks for posting!!Incidentally, I am really proud of myself for being able to watch the c/s!! I still have a really weak stomach (working on that), and I was amazed at how physical and traumatic-looking the c/s were – not at all like they're advertised!Wishing you many, many good wishes for a future vbac. Keep up the good work! Since I'm king of having to take a bit of a blogging break, I'm glad there are so many good birth blogs out there still marching on. :)Cheers!

Leave a Reply

