Labor Tunes

One of my best friends always mentions having music on while she labored with her son. I always just dismissed it, thinking it was just her ‘thing’. It never left my mind, and I started doing some research.

Music is one way people relax. Some calming tunes, or something you love can take the edge off a bad day. Even some heavy metal can help you get your frustration out.

So, why would listening to music in labor seem so weird to me? Because I had never heard of it before? Because I had never been through labor and figured that it would be too hard to listen to it?

Not sure.

However, the more and more I think about using music in labor, the better the idea sounds.

If you have your baby at a hospital, you can bring a piece of home with you. And if it is an iPod, it has lots of little pieces on it for you! Like a HUGE plus!! It sets the atmosphere for your labor and how great would it be to have your baby be born while listening to Dream On by Aerosmith? It’s a no brainer!!

I didn’t think of using music with my daughter. I didn’t think about a lot of things. I am not sure why I didn’t turn to music. I have played the piano since I was 7, I always have music playing in the house, and it is one of my very favorite things.

So, for my HBAC, I have compiled a list of birth music. I am really excited about it.

Now, I am not a normal person. I don’t want to listen to all uplifting music and crap for my birth. I want music that I love, whether it is sad, or happy. I want music that brings happy thoughts to me and brings back memories. Something that I can relax through.

So, on my list is music like “Once upon a December” from Anastasia, “Into the West” from Lord of the Rings, “You’ll be in My Heart” by Phil Collins, “Without You” from Rent, “I’ll Never Smoke Weed With Willie Again” by Toby Keith and Willie Nelson, and “Barbara Manatee” from VeggieTales.

Sure, it isn’t the most ‘birthy’ music you have ever heard, but I love it anyway!! The list isn’t very long yet, only about 5 hours worth, but I like what I have. I listen to it all the time so I can prepare my mind (even though it seems way too early to prepare), and it feels awesome.

Did you ever think of using music in your birth? If so, what did you put on your birth soundtrack?

4 Responses

  1. I still listen to the playlist I created for my labor. It reminds me of the day my son was born and how happy my husband and I were that day and still are. I chose a lot of songs that we both really enjoyed when I created my playlist because I wanted it to be enjoyable for both of us. They were all "our" songs but not just sappy love songs. We threw in our favorites from every genre. It was really enjoyable for me to have the music. But, my own sister once said, music to our family isn't a hobby, it's a way of life. It's certainly true. We live for it, love it and obsess over it. 🙂

  2. I had Janis Joplin playing during my intense labor. She calmed me down nd gave me something to focus on.I think music during delivery is absolutely necessary and has an added bonus- baby's very own song! "Bobby McGee" will always be my little boys' song and it's a nice way to reflect on life, from the beginning.

  3. I think that's a great idea. I never thought about that, but I can only imagine that it would have helped me. With all three I had normal vaginal deliveries each time, no epidurals or major pain meds. And during active labour I more or less just focused inward and breathed during the contractions. Other people's attempts to help can be so out of sync with your body, and really just distracting – but you really do want the support. I think music would have been perfect to give me something to focus on and to relax me.I'm going to share this with an expecting friend of mine. 🙂

  4. I absolutly LOVE this idea! Now that me being preggo is more and more likely each day -I can't test for another week 😦 – I'm thinking that I should pick one song I love every day and create myself a list. Maybe I'll get an ipod for Christmas or my birthday and be able to download everything or maybe I'll burn myself a CD and they'll let me bring my CD player in with me…

Leave a Reply

