Back to Basics?

Every time I think about birth lately, I just get really angry at all that happens to women. I go on other sites and every time I see some woman defending her cesarean section because ‘my doctor said my baby was too big and I needed it’. Or some women so tired of being pregnant they consent to an induction at 38 weeks. Or the doctors and nurses that think the only way to make their point is to bash the natural birth movement.

It seems like for every step forward the birth community makes, we get pushed back 3 steps by the anti-home birth movement and the anti-natural birth movement. The sad part is it isn’t really women that are leading these movements. They are told things by their doctors or midwives and instantly believe it and then lash out at other women that don’t think the same way.

Since when it is a felony to actually think something through and do something you are comfortable with? Since when is it so completely dangerous to choose to have a home birth with an experienced midwife that people call you baby killers and unfit mothers? Since when do OB/GYNs have so much say in what our choices are?

We need to go back to basics. We need to get back to a time when women were actually informed on their care and could truly have an informed consent. When women were allowed to labor where they wanted without worrying about the backlash of family and friends. When women weren’t court ordered into cesareans and abortions. When women controlled their own care and didn’t have to worry about being kicked out of a practice for going against the norm.

I wish I knew a way for us to get back there, but for now, all we can do is stand up for ourselves. Stand up for your birth. Stand up for your rights to have your baby where and with whom you want. Stand up for your family and your choices.

Stand up for yourselves.

That’s all we can do.

2 Responses

  1. You know I loved my c-sections and have no regrets about them… BUT I think that if a woman is healthy and having a low risk pregnancy, home birth is AMAZING esp. if a midwife is with you. I know some moms have birthed alone at home, that just scares me.

Leave a Reply

