And It’s the Kickoff!!

This week, I don’t know if I will have a lot of time to blog, so I am scheduling some posts daily.

I am doing a week of book reviews on Birth!! I have read about 30, and I figured I need to spread the love so people know what to read and what not to read!!

Today’s book: Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth by Ina May Gaskin(As if anyone hasn’t read this book…)

This was the very first book I read. I was soooo impressed with it, mainly because of the fantastic birth stories!!

The first half of the book is stories of women’s births at the Farm. They are a tid bit hippy, but the emotions in them and how they are portrayed are just beautiful. It was the beginning of my birth fascination!

The second half of the book describes labor. All the little bits of labor.

She discusses the Mind/Body Connection and the placebo effect. She shares some stories of women that don’t dilate past a certain amount, no matter how well they handle labor because of fears they haven’t vocalized. Once the fears were discussed, they had babies within hours.

She also talks about women that say they want to open or dilate and it happens instantly. Just saying the words aloud can do wonders.

The main thing with this is that your body and your mind are truly one, and not like how it is conveyed in our society. And this is why the placebo effect works. If someone thinks they are sick, and they aren’t, you can give them sugar pills, and their symptoms an dsickness will go away because they believe it will.

Another chapter that was amazing to me was the Pain/Pleasure chapter. I have done a post on it, but the one analogy she uses that is amazing is how she describes how sex can hurt or feel great depending on the readiness of the woman and the sensitivity of the man. “The size of the object inside her vagina actually has less to do with the physical sensations she experiences during the act than do the factors just mentioned.”

Which is amazing to me!! I think it goes perfectly with birth. If you are prepared and enjoy it, you probably won’t experience the pain that everyone refers to.

There is so much in this book that is excellent, but those are the parts that stood out to me the most.

I recommend this book to EVERYONE that is pregnant, or has had a baby, or is thinking of having a baby. Her views are amazing and she is definitely an amazing woman for transforming birth in this country. I have read the book three times, and each time I find things I haven’t read before.

If you haven’t read this book, DO! It will definitely change how you view birth, or expand your mind around what you already know.

One Response

  1. I would have to agree with you I have only read a few birth books but this one is by far my favorite.

Leave a Reply

