Day #5: Hypnobirthing

I had heard a few things about this system, and I was curious what it was about. When I heard hypno, I was worried it was going to be one of those crazy hypnosis things.

She explains her births in the very beginning. What they made women do in the 50’s and 60’s in hospitals just makes me angry. She labored naturally, and when the baby was crowning, they knocked her out and took the baby out with forceps. She had to have 3 children to finally get the birth she truly wanted!

This process isn’t about hypnosis, per se, but it is about getting yourself into a relaxed state throughout all of labor. Even during the pushing stage, where you breathe the baby out and not push.

The videos I have seen of this birthing technique are completely calm and beautiful. You can barely even tell that the woman is in labor, let alone in transition.

The book is excellent at telling all about how to use this method in birth. The stories are great, and the birth process is definitely something I will look into.

If you are looking for a birthing class, I would check out this book, and then look into having the class. It seems weird from an outside standpoint, but it is a great system!

3 Responses

  1. I did Hypnobabies for my VBAC. It was awesome. I didn't realize I was in labor until I was very far along and then had a 2 hour ride to the VBAC friendly provider and hospital. I was 8 cm when I got to the hospital and my baby was born 2.5 hours later. Hypnobabies is different than Hypnobirthing and from reading birth stories and testimonials on both it seemed that more people did better with Hypnobabies. The whole labor and delivery was very manageable. I highly recommend it. They have a Homestudy kit that is meant to be done on your own. There is also a Hypnobaboes yahoo group for support. You can take a live class as well if one is in your area.

  2. I have big problems with this book… primarily because it portrays (or at least this is how I remember it) birth as being "normally painless" – i.e., if you don't have a painless birth, you've failed. Labor pain took me by surprise because of this book, and I was less prepared than I should have been because I thought, "Hey, labor is painless, I don't really need to prepare!" Bosh! Also, the classes are insufficient in that there are only 5 classes – not nearly enough to master either the technique or learn about other pregnancy/birth issues. And I could not get one technique from the classes to work. I know, however, that it is successful for some mamas. However, if I were to recommend a hypnosis class, I would 100% prefer to recommend Hypnobabies, which seems to have much better results, has longer classes to go with it, and has much more extensive training. If you use either with your next class, you'll have to let us know what you think!!!

  3. I like the book (and the class), but I agree that birth was NOT painless for me. Honestly, for me, hypnobirthing didn't work in the later stages of labor, but it has been incredibly useful both during the earlier stages and through other procedures (I have freaked out a few nurses while doing my hypnobirth breathing to deal with the painful procedures, lol). I do appreciate the way this book (and hypnobirth in general) forces us to re-examine our language surrounding birth. Until reading this (and taking the class), I didn't even realize that the way we discuss birth focuses on pain. As someone who wasn't able to birth either of my latter two babies the way the book/class describes it, I still found value in this book.

Leave a Reply

