Homebirth Tuesday – Is It For You?

Now, my favorite aspect of homebirth is that you don’t have to leave your home in the height of your labor, and people come to you. The other great parts are that you are where you are comfortable, you know where your bathroom is, and you can do what YOU want, not what the hospital staff wants you to do.

But, the one thing I hear from most moms is that “homebirth just isn’t for me.” They all say they wouldn’t be comfortable having a baby at home when they could be safe in the hospital.

***Just as a little junction here, I am not opposed to hospitals. I just think they don’t put the mom first since she is just a patient and not a person***

So, what is the main problem with thinking that having a baby is safer in the hospital?

“Compared to home-born babies, hospital-born babies are six times more likely to suffer distress during labor, eight times more likely to need resuscitation, four times more likely to become infected, 30 times more likely to suffer permanent injury, and their mothers are three times more likely to hemorrhage. The high risk is in the hospital.” – Balizet

(I got this quote from the midwife I work with – she posted it on her FB acct)

How can this possibly be if the hospital is indeed safer for your baby?

Almost half or more of women that labor in the hospital will be given something to augment or induce their labors. Either they “stall” or their body “just won’t start”. So, that is the first intervention that women don’t know they can refuse. And it is even worse since they sometimes put it in your IV without telling you since you already have fluids pumping into your veins since you can’t eat or drink anything but ice chips.

Then, because the contractions become so painful, they ask for pain medication, whether in IV form or an epidural. Which makes your labor slow (most times) so they have to pump up the pitocin which makes them turn up the epidural.

31.8% of women have cesareans when they go to the hospital to have their babies. Are 31.8% of women truly flawed enough so they have to surgically give birth? I highly doubt it.

SO, it all comes down to this. You say that with your second baby you might consider a birthing center or a homebirth because it won’t be as scary as with your first baby. But, what if you are one of the women that ends up with a cesarean and then are unable to have babies vaginally after? What if you have totally ruined your chances for a vaginal delivery because you are so worried that what went wrong the first time will happen again?

I know this is all hypothetical. I do know that. One cesarean isn’t that big of a deal. It’s the multiple cesareans that lead you to trouble since with each cesarean your scar tissue and other things deepen so you are less likely to have a vaginal birth “safely” even in the hospital.

So, why turn your back on a perfectly safe option for low risk women? Why go see a cardiologist for your yearly health check when you could just go to a family physician?

Same goes for birth. Why see an OB that is trained in all the things that can go wrong when you can see someone that believes that birth just happens if you let it, such as homebirth midwives normally do?

(I know this post is kind of random, and I am sorry about that. I guess it planned out better in my head than on paper lol)

2 Responses

  1. In my state (and in many others), women do run the chance of not being able to have their second baby at home because midwife-attended HBACs are illegal (hope that changes soon). Great points!

  2. I think homebirths are wonderful, and I agree that they are a great option for most (low risk) women. I would love to experience one myself, but I'm in AZ where it is illegal for a midwife to attend a hbac which makes things a lot more complicated. I wish it was as simple as choosing an OB or midwife, home or hospital, but it's not. I am one of many women who are frustrated with such limited choices when it comes to having a vbac in AZ. I hope it changes too, but from what I've heard, I doubt it will.

Leave a Reply

