Are They Terrified?

I am taking a neonatal resuscitation course to certifiy for assisting and apprenticing at homebirths. Now, I love learning, but this stuff is deep and the book reads just like radio instructions.

Now, I need to have studied the textbook before I take the course, and I have absolutely hated it.
This book is so boring and so textbooky that sometimes I truly want to blow my brains out. That is when I’m not remembering my daughter’s birth and her NICU stay and realizing all that they did to keep her alive. Which brings on bad memories, so it has been slow going.
Anyway, as I am reading this book, if I didn’t know how birth went and if I didn’t trust the body and how it works, this would scare the pee right out of me. The way the book is written, it only talks about what can go wrong and how to save a newborn. Which makes sense, since that is what the book is about, but it doesn’t talk at all about how you can prevent this stuff. Only how you can fix it.
There is an entire page to risk factors for what might cause need for resuscitation. All of these deal with problems in pregnancy such as diabetes, anemia, previous fetal death, polyhydramnios, premature rupture of membranes, post-term gestation, size-dates discrepancy, or being under 16 or over 35. There are a few that deal with labor, such as emergency cesarean section, breech presentation, premature labor, prolonged rupture of membranes (more than 18 hours), prolonged labor (more than 24 hours), prolonged second stage of labor (more than 2 hours), macrosomia, non-reassuring fetal heart rate patterns, general anesthesia, prolapsed cord, meconium, or narcotics administered to mother within four hours of delivery.
Now, I can understand a few of them such as diabetes, anemia, premature labor, and the narcotics before delivery. Everything else can cause problems, but I think it is just a shield to prepare just in case.
The biggest problem I see is that it pretty much gives tons of reasons for care providers to be terrified of the labor process and what can happen. There is so very much in this that can completely make someone worry about everything that can truly go wrong.
So, if they are terrified of resuscitation and what can go wrong, they would try to protect the process with what they know to make sure it doesn’t happen.
And they would do this through induction, cesareans, electronic fetal monitoring, constant checks, ultrasounds, episiotomies, early cord clamping, rubbing the baby, suctioning, and mandatory nursery examinations. There are tons more but that is all I can think to name right now haha.
And in the process of trying to control the outcome from turning to resuscitation, they enable it through their control.
Babies are more likely to need resuscitation with more of the routine procedures used in labor in the hospital. Induction puts babies at risk for prematurity, fetal distress (which most times leads to cesareans), and also more women get an epidural or other medication while induced because the contractions are longer and stronger than normal and the longer medication is in before the delivery, the more limp the baby is at birth and for the first few days after.
They want everything to be controlled and in the end, they make it more likely to actually have an infant need resuscitation.
Now, I know a lot of infants truly do need the interventions and some truly need the resuscitation techniques. I am not saying that.
I do believe though that a lot of the babies that end up with problems or in the NICU are because of the practices used during labor and delivery. If they would just try not to interfere, think of the babies that when left alone would be completely fine at birth and not need the intervention at birth.
It makes you think how much of it is an ugly cycle that is perpetuated with every birth and ends with women saying, “I am so glad I was in the hospital because my baby needed help after birth.”
Makes you wonder.
Leave a Reply

