Jillian Michaels

A bit ago, there was a very large backlash to an interview Jillian Michaels had.  In this interview, she was said to have said she had an “aversion to pregnancy” and she would “never do that to my body.”

All over the blog world, women and mothers fought back.  People publically came out against Jillian Michaels, and it was a very touchy subject.

I had my own thoughts on it, mainly that she was a big child and was worried about getting big again (which to me makes sense.  Being made fun of as a kid haunts you, even if you are as confident as Jillian Michaels and her awesome body).

However, I didn’t jump on her, I felt there was something else.  And because I work with the birth world, I do know how much they take out of interviews, and make their own assumptions.

Well, Jillian Michaels has Endometriosis.

She came out of the intertility closet before she was ready because one interview made her.

Having infertility issues is embarrassing and shameful.  When family or friends as me when we will have another, I always side step.  Unless they are really good friends or read my blog and twitter, they don’t know.  And I am ashamed to tell them.

What are we doing as women when we believe an interview and get upset about someone adopting, when we should be probing deeper?  There are many reasons for someone to feel like they don’t want children.  You don’t see us bashing every couple that adopts instead of having their own biological child.  Hell, most days I have people tell me to stop being selfish and just adopt one of the children that need a home.

Now, Jillian Michaels, if she wants to have a biological child has to go through extensive surgeries.  Most likely has to go through many fertility treatments.  And she knows she isn’t prepared for that.  She herself doesn’t want to do it.

Endometriosis is the #1 cause of infertility.  It can take SEVEN YEARS to be diagnosed with this condition.  SEVEN YEARS.

All the while you have extremely painful periods, are unable to get pregnant, and everyone is telling you what you are feeling is normal and there is nothing wrong.

When we, as women, especially us in the birth world, come out against another women without knowing exactly why she feels that way, whether she is a public figure or not, we are just jumping at shivers in the dark.

Infertility is so unknown, even if many more people are discussing it, but before jumping on a woman for not wanting a child naturally because you read an interview, maybe think to why she feels that way.

It could save a lot of grief, and it can make it so a woman is allowed to come out about her fertility on her own time and not before she is physically and mentally ready for it.

2 Responses

  1. I wasn’t bothered so much by her comments of not wanting a baby, but I didn’t like that she said she wanted to adopt to “rescue” a baby. That bothered me for some reason. Of course chances are that could have been taken out of context too. Who knows these days? It’s so hard to know what’s real and what’s not.

    I understand her reasons for not wanting to say that she has infertility problems, but I wish that she had been able to say something from the get-go about it. How awful for her though to say something to an interviewer and have everything taken out of context.

  2. I feel rather ashamed of myself, now. I was among those who were outraged, though my self-righteous contempt was confined to a conversation with the friend who passed the article on to me. Usually, I advocate for not judging a book by its cover, for waiting and seeing to see if there’s more information; it’s one of my biggest peeves when people jump to conclusions, and here I did it myself because I falsely assumed that being “in print”, it was an accurate representation of reality. (HA! HAHA! Oh, I should know better. I reeeally should.) I failed to live up to my own standards and now I’m seeing how wrong I was.

    My heart goes out to her in her struggles. I can totally understand now why she wouldn’t want to go through that. In fact, my sister and I are the result of a similar situation: our mother had endometriosis and had to have an hysterectomy, then we were adopted. I know it was very hard on her at about the same age as Jillian. And to have a huge firestorm over something that was completely NOT her fault, but the writer’s; if it were me, that would raise my ire until I couldn’t see straight.

    You were wise to reserve judgment. I’ll have to work on that again, myself. Thank you for the follow up and excellent post.

Leave a Reply

