Where to start?

Yesterday I posted about pumping and asked if anyone had recommendations for a pump.  I then joked on twitter if I begged would a company give me a pump haha.  Not more than an hour later, Amber (BirthRoutes) asked me if I would like a donation account for a hospital grade pump she was offered when she asked for pumps for me for $350!  It felt too good to be true!

Erin came forward with a Ameda Elite breast pump, a hospital grade double pump, plus her offer of the attachment kit, some milk bags, teas and such a amazing gift of a pumping consult worth $90, being that Erin herself is an International Board Certified Lactation Consultant (ICBCLC). She was asking $350 for the above. (Amber’s post)

She set up the paypal donation account and such, and within seconds we had donations coming in.  In under two and a half hours we had the $350!  I wasn’t home during this so I found out when I got home we had collected $430 and the donation account was still open for other needs I could have.

There were only 7 contributers when the goal was reached, thanks to Brandi Hefner Doucet (DeepSouthDoula onTwitter). She generously offered a large sum of money and her story. The donation to Kayce was made in honor of her mother, who passed away a year ago. Brandi’s mother lost two children to CHD and Spina Bifida, and knows she’d be very pleased with using some of the money from her estate sale to help Kayce with such a selfless act of kindess. Brandi herself has seen the benefits of breastmilk, having had a baby in the NICU in critical condition. I’d like to extend a humongous thank you to Brandi (and her mother) for making this possible so quickly. I’m still in awe. (From Amber’s post HERE)

Not only this, more people donated after we reached the goal, so I had money to rush the pump to me, and order other things I might need, like breast pads, cream, storage bags, herbs, and so much more.

There are so many people to thank and I am not sure where to begin!!

To all those that donated, you are getting something in the mail from me (should be sent by the end of this week), but I would love to mention your names on here.  If that is okay, please let me know.  You need recognition for such an amazing gift!

I have also had others come forward offering leftover products from when they nursed, and from companies that are donating things to me.

So far (and I hope I don’t forget anyone):

Allie (bbybirthingmama) is offering 50 collection bags. Mama Goddess Birth Shop (mamagoddess) is offering a bag of More Milk Tea.  Earth Mama Angel Baby (EMAB_HQ) is offering nipple cream.  Simple Wishes (SimpleWishes_) is offering a Hands Free Nursing Bra.  Kim Corrigan-Oliver (YourGreenBaby) is offering a pair of wool breast pads.  Bamboobies (bamboobies) is offering some of their incredible nursing pads.  (If I missed anyone, PLEASE let me know!!!!!)

I am beyond amazed at the generosity of people.  You are all my heroes!  I never could have hoped for all that I am being given, and am just amazed that this is really happening!!

And please, if you donated money, items, anything, please let me know so I can credit you in the post and send you a thank you.  It has helped me more than I could ever say!!

Thank you so very much for everything!!!

6 Responses

  1. Oh, I should not have read this at work on my lunch break – it’s totally making me cry, right before a meeting!

    I’m so glad you’re able to get what you need.

  2. You are doing a wonderful selfless thing & I pray that it helps give you peace. (((love & hugs)))

  3. Yay for Twitter! I’m so glad you were able to get what you needed! I feel bad I missed it all!

  4. I pumped for a year after my son’s NICU stay. I also returned to work at 8 weeks still a little (ie. VERY) shell shocked but I was determined to do everything I could to make pumping work. At one point I was producing 40-50+ oz a day while working FT 40 miles from home (80 round trip).

    I kept a daily log of how much I pumped and would try to beat it each day. I took Fenugreek 4 – 5 times a day, drank lots of water and ate a healthy diet. I actually enjoyed pumping which helped more than anything. I used breast compressions and knew all the right pressure points. I would try to get just one more letdown before I turned off the pump. I did it for a year and only quit b/c I learned I was pg with #2. I had such a tremendous stash that he continued to get milk for the next 4 months.

    All this to say that I admire what you are doing and want to see you have a successful pumping experience. You can do whatever you set your mind to. Although you may not get 40oz a day…whatever you do produce will benefit someone, somewhere. You have an opportunity to take one of the most difficult events in your life and turn it into something amazing. Your precious son, Tyrion Caelith, is so proud of his mama!

    My hope is that others will hear your story and consider doing the same. Either after a loss or while breastfeeding or after weaning….whatever the situation may be.

    If anything I hope it raises awareness of the need and benefits of donated milk and that the US…no, the World…needs more resources and access to it.

    I look forward to following you on your journey of healing and helping. My only request is that when you are ready to move forward and are no longer pumping that you will donate the pump and any supplies, herbs, books, etc left over to someone in need who will benefit from it as well.

    Namaste’

    Brandi ~ DeepSouthDoula

  5. You deserve every dollar, you’re doing a beautiful and selfless thing. I can only speak for myself but you don’t need to send me a thank you note or anything, I’m just happy to have helped out such a good cause 🙂

  6. Oh wow. Isn’t this a fantastic community?!

    Someone I had never even talked to before on my twins board gave me a breast pump for Nolan right before he was born, I wouldn’t have been able to breastfeed him after I returned to work without it.

    Its things like this that restore my faith in humanity.

    ((Hugs))

Leave a Reply

